Sociology Multi-College Department

The sociology multi-college department committee’s charge was to form a new multi-college Department of Sociology comprised at the core of sociologists from Sociology (College of Arts and Sciences) and Policy Analysis and Management (College of Human Ecology). Bringing these groups together leverages common strengths, builds on distinctive strengths, and develops a shared vision that furthers excellence and elevates sociology at Cornell. The committee mapped out a strategic plan with input from sociology colleagues that included short- and long-term aims focused on faculty governance, academic programming, research excellence, and the promotion of diversity, equity, and inclusion across these areas. The recommendations for strategic investments support the long-run excellence and impact of the new Department of Sociology.

Sociology Multi-College Department Committee:

Name Title
Ben Cornwell (Co-Chair) Professor and Chair, Sociology
Kelly Musick (Co-Chair) Professor and Chair, Policy Analysis and Management; Professor (by courtesy), Sociology
Mabel M. Berezin Professor, Sociology
Matthew Hall Associate Professor, Policy Analysis and Management; Director, Cornell Population Center
Sharon Sassler Professor, Policy Analysis and Management
John Siliciano Deputy Provost; Professor, Cornell Law School
Kim Weeden Jan Rock Zubrow ’77 Professor of the Social Sciences; Director of the Center for the Study of Inequality
Victoria White Project Manager, Office of the President